How do I Disable “Remember Password” option in my Browser?

The “Remember Password” is a very common option that appears in most browsers, when you have to provide personal information in websites. It was introduced to ease the user’s access into frequently visited sites and accounts. When the user wants to log in into a website or account, the browser asks if they want to “remember password” so they do not have to repeat the process. It saves time too. This option is often used at workplaces and home computers.

But today, this option has assisted the occurrences of many cybercrimes. Entering into accounts with the already saved passwords is now a piece of cake for intruders and other users. This has done more harm than help and many prefer to log in or sign in without having to save the passwords.

However, how do you clear out already saved passwords? If your passwords are already saved and you want to delete them from the browser’s memory, follow these steps. Steps to disable that option is also given here. These steps are only with respect to two major browsers; Mozilla Firefox and Google Chrome.

 

How do I disable “Remember Password” option in Chrome?

  • Click on the vertical “three dots” located at the top, right-hand corner of the browser
  • From the drop-down menu, select Settings
  • Scroll down and click on Show Advanced Settings
  • Scroll down to Passwords and Forms and uncheck Offer to Save your web Passwords
  • To delete already saved passwords, click on the Manage Passwords on the left of the previous option
  • From the list that appears, hover over across the website, whose password you want to delete and click on the X mark you find on the right end
  • If you want to delete all of them, just press Ctrl + A and then Delete on your keyboard
  • When you are done, click on Done and the list of all the saved passwords is cleared

How do I Disable “Remember Password” option in Firefox?

  • Click on the horizontal “three dots” located at the top, right-hand corner of the browser
  • From the drop-down menu, select Settings
  • Scroll down to Advanced Settings and click on View Advanced Settings
  • Scroll down to Privacy and Services and uncheck Offer to Save Passwords
  • To delete already saved passwords, click on Manage my saved passwords
  • From the list that appears, hover across the website, whose password you want to delete and click on the X mark you find at the right end
  • If you want to delete all of them, just press Ctrl + A and then Delete on your keyboard

These simple steps are easy to follow and takes a fraction of a second to process. Now that you have disabled the “remember passwords” option and deleted previously saved passwords, you can relax and be assured that your privacy is taken care of. However, if you want to change your mind and save the passwords, you just have to enable the “remember passwords” option.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

32 + = 33